last weekend in pune rocked – part I

Well right now I am in the lab in NCL and it is past midnight now. Germany vs Italy starts in around 15 minutes and I would be catching the first semi-final on net instead of a tv. I am rooting for Germany now after Argentina crashed out. It isn’t as if I was a die-hard fan of Argentinians but just becoz taking sides just makes it lot more interesting to follow the world cup (even though I haven’t yet seen a single match :P) However I hope to catch the finals on 9th July when I would finally be home, most probably Ambala. I just hope that the electricity doesn’t go out when the match is gooing on as that would dash my last hopes of seeing atleast one live match of this world cup.
Okay, coming back to the title of this post, the last weekend rocked. I went to the Chaturshringi temple (I hope I am spelling it right) all alone – had a great view of almost whole Pune from the top of the hill. Awesome!!!
Anywaz, the most important thing was touring Lonavala on Saturday. As I wrote in my last post that I had to go to Lonavala on Saturday no matter what, the plans fell in place for me. One IIT Bombay guy, Piyush, here in NCL, said that he was going to Lonavala with his old school friends (who are presently studying in Pune) and asked if I would join them. I was only too eager to say yesssssssssss!! However, after half an hour, he told me that there was no room for me in the car – I was a little heartbroken but then there was my plan of going with Saurabh or even alone (who would stop me from going alone :P). In the evening I went to the Chaturshringi temple in heavy rain. Though when I started from the room, it was not raining, however, as soon as I reached the main gate of the temple it started raining and suddenly it was pouring. I took shelter for a few minutes but when the rain didn’t show any signs of thawing, I said “Damn rain” let’s get wet in the monsoon rain. As an unwritten rule, I always get drenched in the monsoons atleast once every season – whether willingly or unwillingly doesn’t matter. So I thought maybe this season it would be the former case. It was a steep climb up the stairs though I had anticipated much more. After saying the first prayers, I realised that I was in a temple after almost two months !!!!!!!!! And on top of that I was reciting the gayatri mantra also for the first time after coming to Pune – it surprised me without doubt. It also reminded me of my promise to myself of offering prasaad at three temples in Shimla of Rs.11/- each – at Dhingoo mandir, Kali baadi temple and Sankat Mochan. This is the least I can do after the huge Walia course fiasco that struck me dead at the end of the last semester.
(heaving a big sigh of relief)
Coming back, I offered myself to the service of God for a few minutes and stood silent to absorb the blessings of that serene place. As I walked out of the main complex I saw a pagdandi (a small cracked mountainous path) branching up the hill. Wearing back my shoes, I followed the path and finally after around ten minutes reached the top of that hill. The view was awesome. I could see almost the whole of Pune. I could feel the importance of this place where despite the extremely busy life of every man here (reminded by the continuous dull drumming noise of horns blowing far down below) and the serenity and peace that this temple offered to these very people (reminded by the silence surrounding me). As it was almost dark , there was noone at the top except me – and I relished that moment for a long time. Finally after answering nature’s call (sorry, couldn’t hold any longer), I climbed down, not after viewing a number of couples hidden inside small natural caves 😛
As I reached the main road, I crossed over to the Baner road to catch a bus to my place. I planned on walking a bit till I found a bus stop. But as I kept on walking, I realised no buses came over from this road. It would always be the Pashan or the University road. I cursed myself , however, I thought it better to keep on walking and maybe get a lift on a bike. But it was my bad luck I guess that I had to walk almost three km before I got a lift and that too only for around 200/300 mts. I was soaking wet by the time I reached Dilli Chaat Ghar where I had my dinner. Then just as I was going back to Sheetal Palace to ask Saurabh to go to Lonavala/Khandala with me the next day, I got a surprise SMS.
It was Preshit and he messaged me to call Piyush as he wanted to talk to me about the Lonavala trip. I was thrilled beyond doubt. I called Piyush and he said that I can come and should reach teh NCL main gate at 9 in the morning the next day. My spirits soared as I finally saw that my dream of visiting lonavla/khandala were finally bearing fruits.
The next day was not without its usual hiccups. How could such a trip that had got postponed so many times go without any problems? But I would save the next day’s story for the next part ; I have to get back to my work and then go back to my new room – the new room is in NCL colony itself and is mid way between the lab and my old room. So its suits me well!
I just had a nice hot cup of steaming coffee – awesome when you are sitting in an air-conditioned room in front of a computer and browsing away your time; however I had to prepare it myself – but thats part of the thrill, kyun?

Leave a Reply

