July Ramblings IV/IV

On 7-21-2011


Digging the past for a better future

Lately I see myself running into the past quite often (mainly blogs/emails/chats) – into the world of IIT – and it practically kills me as I pore over those endless or even two liner chats – the best of friendships forged in the not so comfortable environment.

But I am not the one to linger on the past for long and instead want to learn from it to help me in the future. So the exercise of walking down the memory lane is aimed to generate ideas and stuff that I loved to do and maybe enrich my future as well. I was as big a procrastinator back then as I am now; but poring over the past made me realize and understand that there were definitely a few things that would stir my mind and I could continue to do that for hours.

Lets cross out the few obvious things from there – studying, exercise, waking up, hmmm… nothing else coming to mind right now.

So excluding plain idling (endless conversations/movies etc. with friends), what is the other stuff I did? I organized events big time – rendezvous, tnp etc… so other than general time and project management skills, I am not sure I want to go into the event management career right now; though I am still loving the part of organizing events at office. Lets keep that aside for this discussion.

Next what I remember is reading! I could read for countless hours – if I started a book, I would practically finish it in one go. And boy, did I read? At that time, I remember having the feeling of not reading much; but going back and thinking about it, I did read a lot of books (though mostly due to the numerous literature courses I took) considering the amount of other stuff I had to always do. I am actually amazed at the amount and kind of work I did back in IIT. Anyways, reading books (novels/short stories) is something I should start doing asap – whatever the fuck I want to do in future should not stop this.

I wrote – not as much as I would have ideally liked to – mostly blogs in the later years compared to fiction in the first couple of years. This is something I don’t typically crave to do – I think much faster than I write – but thoughts usually blur and repeat and stop making sense after sometime. And thats where penning down the thoughts is really helpful – it creates an anchor around which the thoughts can revolve and more importantly help my mind to pause and reflect more clearly. So yes, I should write more often and let my imagination flying again – this July series of ramblings is hopefully a step in the right direction.

Alright next was graphic designing – oh – how I could sit on the Photoshop for hours , working on a single image and trying to create a design. The feeling of satisfaction after you complete the design and then sit back to look at something you created is indescribable. And then having it appreciated by friends and team members is always the icing on the cake. Ok, so this is something I really want to do as a hobby I guess. Need to buy Mac asap; and Photoshop my time away. 

Leave a Reply

