What do I ‘really’ want in life?

Now this is a really tough question and obviously a very clear reference to my current ‘quarter-life’ crisis. Since it is a tough question, there is not an easy answer for sure.

However, I need a plan – because as I learned in my very first grade, a man without ambition is like a ship without rudder. I have always been ambitious. In school, my primary goal was to be ranked one and a secondary objective to participate in many extra-curricular activities. But what do I most remember from school times? Those hours of studying? No. I have fond memories of reading books borrowed from the library. I always get excited reminiscing the weeks when I built the school version of ‘Kaun Banega Crorepati’ and created a venture out of the idea with my own team.

I remember the hours spent in creating my own website – learning how to code and design by myself. I learned how to make a newsletter and spent countless hours in creating and managing content for it.

And then, even at college, spending those countless hours creating graphic designs was incredibly fulfilling and satisfying. Probably more satisfying than even my role as overall coordinator at TnP.

At work, my first year was most fulfilling and maybe the reason I am still at ZS – it allowed me to create and be part of a new practice area where I could contribute and take ownership of right from the start.

Basically it boils down to my passion for ‘building something’ – I need to be part of something  that I can call my own! Something that I  can be put all my heart into and be responsible for its success or failure.

Leave a Reply

